Bloody Scotland

Bloody Scotland established itself as the leading Scottish International Crime Writing Festival in 2012. Based in Stirling, Bloody Scotland, now coming up for its twelfth festival, has brought hundreds of crime writers new and established to the stage with always enthusiastic attendees who make the festival every bit as much as the writers do. Glencairn are proud of their Scottish roots and their Glencairn Glass like Scottish Crime Writing, is enjoyed around the world. When the opportunity to sponsor the McIlvanney Prize for Scottish Crime Writing and the Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Writing Prize came along – it was a natural fit for the world-famous whisky glass – the Glencairn Glass.

Find Out More

McIlvanney Prize Longlist 2023 Announced

The McIlvanney Prize shortlist will be revealed at the end of August. Today the longlist is revealed to be:

  • D V Bishop – Ritual of Fire (Macmillan)
  • Heather Darwent – The Things We Do To Our Friends  (Penguin)
  • Kate Foster – The Maiden (Mantle)
  • Mark Leggatt – Penitent (Fledgling Press)
  • S G Maclean – The Bookseller of Inverness (Quercus)
  • Callum McSorley – Squeaky Clean  (Pushkin)
  • Val McDermid – 1989 (Little,Brown)
  • Denise Mina – The Second Murderer (Vintage)
  • Robbie Morrison – Cast A Cold Eye (Macmillan)
  • Ian Rankin – A Heart Full of Headstones (Orion)
  • Craig Russell – The Devil’s Playground (Little,Brown)
  • Douglas Skelton – An Honourable Thief (Canelo)
Find Out More

Scottish Crime Debut of the Year 2023

  • Heather Critchlow — Unsolved (Canelo)
  • Heather Darwent — The Things We Do To Our Friends (Penguin)
  • Kate Foster — The Maiden (Mantle)
  • Callum McSorley — Squeaky Clean (Pushkin)
  • Fulton Ross — The Unforgiven Dead (Inkshares)

The Debut Prize winner is awarded a cheque of £500 and a trophy sponsored by The Glencairn Glass.

Find Out More

Short Story Competition

The Glencairn team saw The Glencairn Glass’s sponsorship of both the McIlvanney Prize and Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Writing prize as an opportunity to help promote writers. Working with Bloody Scotland, and our media partner, Scottish Field, we created the Glencairn Glass Short Story competition – open to writers across the globe.

Find Out More

One With The Glass

When Glencairn announced their sponsorship of the McIlvanney Prize and Bloody Scotland Debut Crime Writing Prize, in 2020 it was important that we added value to the sponsorship. In the first year an idea was floated. Could the shortlisted authors for the debut prize; Deborah Masson, Marion Todd, Francine Toone and Stephen O’Rourke, along with Gordon Brown (an author and one of the Bloody Scotland founding directors) write a short story between them – that included the world famous Glencairn Glass. The result was ‘One With The Glass’.

Find Out More